Call Number:
811 Walker
Publisher, Date:
Athens : The University of Georgia Press, [2013]
xxiv, 71 pages ; 22 cm
In this selection of poetry the author writes from the point of view of people involved in the life and death of Medgar Evers, including his widow, his brother, his assassin Byron De La Beckwith, and both of Beckwith's wives.
Other Title:
Includes bibliographical references.
What kills me -- Ambiguity over the Confederate flag -- Rotten fruit -- Humor me -- The N-word -- Southern sports -- Byron De La Beckwith dreaming I -- I'd wish I was in Dixie too -- Fire proof -- Listening to music -- Life apes art apes life : Byron De La Beckwith reflects on Birth of a nation -- White of way -- Music, niggers & Jews -- Swamp thing -- Stand by your man -- Husbandry -- Unwritten rules for young black boys wanting to live in Mississippi long enough to become men -- Byron De La Beckwith dreaming II -- After dinner in Money, Mississippi -- World war too -- Believing in hymn -- Southern bells -- Fighting extinction -- Harriet Tubman as villain : a ghost story -- Legal lynching -- After the FBI searched the bayou -- Haiku for Emmett Till -- No more fear -- When death moved in -- Byron De La Beckwith dreaming III -- After birth -- Sorority meeting -- One-third of 180 grams of lead -- Arlington -- Cross examination -- Bighearted -- Anatomy of hate -- What they call irony -- On moving to California -- Mississippi, two Mississippis -- A final accounting -- Now one wants to be president -- Epiphany -- Last meal haiku -- White knights -- Evers family secret recipe -- The assurance man -- Gift of time -- Heavy wait -- Time line.
9780820345413 (pbk. : alk. paper)
0820345415 (pbk. : alk. paper)
Where Is It?
Table of Contents
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View

Add to My List